Tags

, , ,

We had heavy rains here in Texas this weekend. When it rains where you live do you sing? I do. I love the sound of rain on the roof. I love the cooler air the rain usually brings in. I love the fresh scent everything has after a good rain.

   Rejoice in the rain! I often find walking out into the rain brings a song to my lips! “Raindrops keep falling on my head…” or on my more spirited days I might burst into a round of “Singing in the Rain…” When my girls were very young we would stand in the rain with our heads tilted skyward singing “If all the raindrops were lemon drops and gum drops oh what a rain that would be …” And yes, we would open our mouths and catch the raindrops.  Some of you may live in areas where you get more than enough rain, so your songs would be more on the line of “Rain, rain go away!” But Texas is in a long season of drought. And in times of drought nearly everyone loves the rain.

Recognize your need for the rain! The drought makes you acutely aware of your need for rain. When I moved to Texas 27 years ago, I did not understand the ramifications of living in a drought. I did not know that the foundation on my house might crack and shift if the ground did not get enough water. I did not know that there would be water restrictions and that would usually mean being unable to keep your own yard alive. I did not realize that the price of food was likely to go up as crops were lost due to the drought. I did not expect to live with the danger of wildfires because the grass was so dry that a little spark even from a passing car could ignite it. And that once ignited, the grass fire would spread quickly across thousands of acres. Drought is serious business. And we take our need for rain more seriously in such times.

The spiritual drought we experience is serious business as well.  We become acutely aware of our need for the ‘rain’ of God’s encouraging Word. Hearing the truths of God’s Word during this time is like being in a downpour of refreshing rain. I remember a time of drought in my own life. I graduated from college, moved away to start my new job, and went in search of a church home. For three months I visited different churches looking for a new church family.  But each week I was disappointed by the apparent indifference to God’s Word and the superficial approach to faith. I became more and more thirsty for solid Biblical teaching. Then one Sunday I walked into a church and heard a powerful message from Scripture that poured over my soul. I recall telling my mother that it was like refreshing water being poured onto a dry and parched land. I was ‘singing in the rain’!

 Appreciate the Rain! How sad that even in a drought, some do not appreciates the rain. There are always those who don’t seem to understand how serious the drought is whether it is physical or spiritual. So when it rains, they complain about the inconvenience instead of celebrating its arrival.

Soak in the Rain! Sometimes rainfall means we have to change our plans. Sometimes the rainfall of God’s Word washing over us means us we have to change our plans, our behavior, our ideas. Yes, it is inconvenient and sometimes unpleasant, but without the rain, you will remain in the drought. And just as I learned the ramifications of a Texas drought, you will begin to experience the damage to your life by not being in the Word. Your foundational beliefs begin to shift, your relationships begin to suffer, you stop bearing fruit, you face unexpected dangers and are blindsided by the little things.

 Jeremiah 17:7-8

“But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord,
    whose confidence is in him.
 He will be like a tree planted by the water
    that sends out its roots by the stream.
It does not fear when heat comes;
    its leaves are always green.
It has no worries in a year of drought
    and never fails to bear fruit.”

Prepare for the drought! To prepare for the drought of our land, we have to conserve water. But there is an endless supply God’s living water. There is no need to conserve it, instead we must plant ourselves where we can draw from its flow. Only then can we face spiritual drought without fear.

I recognize my need for rain. I appreciate it when it comes and soak it in. And I rejoice in its refreshing power. Don’t look now, but I feel a song coming on…

