Tags

, ,

People talk trash in competitive sports and people talk Thanksgiving every November, but how often does someone talk about trash AND thanksgiving? Time to stretch your thanksgiving muscles! 

Give thanks to the Lord for He is good! Psalm 106:1

The air is so still this morning. I can hear the Connally High School drum section practicing on the field miles away as if they were right next door. There is a low grumbling from the construction machinery more than a mile down the road. I can hear the voices of two runners on the trail long before they come into view. What I could not figure out at first was why I was hearing that incessant beeping of a truck backing up. Then I realized it is garbage day and that is the sound of the garbage truck going through our neighborhood. And my heart filled with thanks.

Give thanks to the Lord for He is good!

Like you, I have seen many pictures of communities in our world where people live in the midst of  squalor. Maybe you have been on a mission trip and seen it first-hand. What would these people give to have a garbage truck come through once a week to remove the refuse? I remember reading of the early days of our country when the city streets were filled with garbage because no one knew what to do with it. How thankful they were when someone came up with the idea of a garbage collection system! Why am I talking about trash? I’m not. Actually, I’m talking about having a thankful heart. Thank you Lord for the garbage collectors and their trucks!

Give thanks to the Lord for He is good!

If I asked you “What are you thankful for?” most of you would give me wonderful answers about family, friends, homes, and health. I’d like to challenge you to stretch those thanksgiving muscles and take a long look at your life. How many blessings do you look right past because they are so ‘normal’ to you? Like garbage day. Even when life is hard, we have so many blessings. Do the lights come on at your house when you flip the light switch? Does clean water come out of your faucet? Can you do your laundry in a washing machine? Do you have access to medicine for your allergies and pain management? These questions are just the beginning. Take time to give thanks in new ways and for things that normally are overlooked.

Give thanks to the Lord for He is good!

On Thanksgiving Day my family writes on slips of paper all we are thankful for and I for one am going to have some interesting slips of paper this year!

